Indian Railway see one of the highest travellers in this period as you see every part of India celebrates and people like to go their home state and enjoy Navraratri and Dussehra with their Family and Friends.

India Railway have started a lot special train, Suvidha Trains, so please keep searching possible trains and you may get tickets in Suvidha/Special Train.

More details about Navratri…

Navaratri is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu deity Durga. The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights

During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Devi are worshipped. The tenth day is commonly referred to as Vijayadashami or “Dussehra” (also spelled Dasera). Navaratri is an important major festival and is celebrated all over India and Nepal

Though there are in total five types of Navaratri that come in a year, Sharad Navaratri is the most popular one. Hence, the term Navaratri is being used for Sharada Navaratri here.

Navaratri represents a celebration of the Goddess Amba, (the Power).

Navaratri or Navadurga Parva happens to be the most auspicious and unique period of devotional sadhanas and worship of Shakti (the sublime, ultimate, absolute creative energy) of the Divine conceptualized as the Mother Goddess-Durga

Nine Days of Navratri

Navratri Day Day Form of Goddess Tithi Pujan Colour
Navratri Day 1 Pratipada Shailaputri Maa Ghatasthapana Shailputri Pujan Grey
Navratri Day 2 Dwitiya Brahmacharini Chandra Darshan Brahmacharini Pujan Orange
Navratri Day 3 Tritiya Chandraghanta Sindoor Tritiya, Sowbhagya Teej Chandraghanta Pujan White
Navratri Day 4 Chaturthi Kushmanda Varad Vinayaka Chauth Bhouma Chaturthi Red
Navratri Day 5 Panchami Skandamata Lalita Panchami Upang Lalita Vrat, Lalitha Gauri Vrat, Skandamata Pujan Navy Blue
Navratri Day 6 Shashthi Katyayani Maha Shashti Saraswati Awahan, Katyayani Pujan Yellow
Navratri Day 7 Saptami Kaalratri Maha Saptami Saraswati Puja, Kalaratri Pujan, Utsava Puja Green
Navratri Day 8 Ashtami Maha Gauri Durga Ashtami, Maha Ashtami Saraswati Mata Pujan, Mahagauri Pujan, Sandhi Puja Peacock Green
Navratri Day 9 Navami Siddhidatri Khande Navami, Durga Visarjan, Maha Navami Ayudha Puja, Kanya puja Purple

Nine forms of Shakti are worshipped during the Navaratris. The Devis worshipped depend on the tradition of the region.

  1. Durga
  2. Kali
  3. Amba or Jagadamba, Mother of the universe
  4. Annapoorna devi or Gauri, The one who bestows grains (anna) in plenty (purna: used as subjective)
  5. Sarvamangala or Sheetal, The one who gives happiness (mangal) to all (sarva)
  6. Bhairavi
  7. Chandika or Chandi
  8. Lalita
  9. Bhavani
  10. Mookambika or Tara

Navaratri is celebrated in different ways throughout India.

  • Gujrat – Garba Dance
  • West – Bengal – Durga Puja
  • Punjab, Navaratri is known as Navratras or Naratey
  • In Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, people celebrate Bathukamma festival over a period of nine days. It is a kind of navaratri celebration
  • In Kerala and in some parts of Karnataka three days: Ashtami, Navami, and Vijaya Dashami of Sharad Navarathri are celebrated as Sarasvati Puja in which books are worshiped
  • Mysore is well known for the festivities that take place during the period of Dasara, the state festival of Karnataka.
  • In Karnataka, Ayudha Puja, the ninth day of Mysore Dasara, is celebrated with the worship of implements used in daily life such as computers, books, vehicles, or kitchen tools.
    In temples of Tamil Nadu, navaratri is celebrated for the Devi’s dwelling in each temples,
Happy Navratri – Festival of India

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *